Lewis Lawhon

Male 1813 - 1906  (93 years)

Personal Information    |    Media    |    All    |    PDF

  • Name Lewis Lawhon 
    Born 1813 
    Gender Male 
    Died 15 Nov 1906 
    • 1830 -- Census, Moore County, NC Page 463
      Lous. Lawhon
      (20-30) 1M 1F
      (0-5) 1M 1F
      (24-36) 1F
      (10-24) 1F
      (0-10) 1M 1F

      1850 -- Census, Moore County, NC Page 216
      1860 -- Census, Moore County, NC Page 179-B
      1880 -- Census, Moore County, NC Page 220-B
    Person ID I02487  Moore County Wallaces
    Last Modified 14 May 2021 

    Father Joel Lawhon,   b. 1770-1780,   d. Bef 16 Nov 1840  (Age 60 years) 
    Mother Catherine Furr,   b. 1787,   d. Aft 1870  (Age 84 years) 
    Family ID F2158  Group Sheet  |  Family Chart

    Family Minnie Shields,   b. 1814 
     1. Archibald Lawhon,   b. 1835
    +2. Catherine Lawhon,   b. 12 Jul 1836,   d. 22 Jan 1857  (Age 20 years)
     3. John Lawhon,   b. 1838
    +4. Joel J. Lawhon,   b. 27 Nov 1839,   d. 10 Jul 1911  (Age 71 years)
    +5. William J. Lawhon,   b. 1845
     6. Martha Elizabeth Lawhon,   b. 1848
     7. Patrick H. Lawhon,   b. 1851
     8. Samuel D. Lawhon,   b. 1853
    +9. Andrew J. Lawhon,   b. 1855,   d. 24 Mar 1934  (Age 79 years)
    Family ID F0995  Group Sheet  |  Family Chart

  • Histories
    1843 Petition, Moore County, NC
    1843 Petition, Moore County, NC
    1843, Jan 20 -- Petition, Nov 1842-Jan 1843 General Assembly Session Records
    The following citizens of Moore County petitioned the General Assembly for relief from debts due to economic hardship. They requested the General Assembly pass a law preventing creditors from buying defaulted property unless the debtors was allowed 2/3 the value of the land: J.J. Alston, Carroll Brady, Bradley Brady, Jesse Hedgepeth, W.D. Tyson, John Warner, Pitate Ivey, N.S. Marley, Neill Peterson, John Oats, Duncan McIver, William Underwood, E.Q. Sowell, Thos. Fry, John D. McDonald, John Patterson, D.M.R. McIntosh (Cpt.), John McIver (Cpt.), Eli R. Sowe;l, Jesse Stafford, Aaron A.F. Sowell, Lewis Lawhon, George Hunsucker, Hugh McKenzie, Jacob Stutts, Daniel Muse, Alexd. Camerson, Wm. Wadsworth, Peter Black, George D. Ritter, J.H. Muse, Mathew Williams, Jesse Sanders, Jno. McDonald, W.K. Benjamin, J. Thomas, D.M. McIntosh, Joab Cheek, Corn, Shields, Fannin Moore, Bryan Boroughs, George Stutts, Henry Stutts, William Sears, Robt. L. Purvis, Stephen Beryman, Benj. Shields, Neill McNeill, Danl. McRae, Hugh Mathis, A. Munroe, A. Stutts, Neill Mathis, Brinkly Phillips, Thomas Muse, Thomas J. Pervis, Daniel McNeill, John Tyson, Balaam Stewart, Henry Stutts Jr., Levi Wright, John Ritter, John Dunlap, J.J. Phillips, Dempsey Sowell, Joseph Upton, John Oliver, Neill McQueen, Angus McCaskill, William B. Williamson, A. Harper, Jesse B. Caddell, Angus McCaskill, James B. Muse, M. McLeod, Green B. Fields, Martin Hunsucker, Newton R. Bryan, Peter Cornelison, Benjamin Phillips, Charles Brady, Elijah Y. Rice [?], Norman D. McDuffie, Wm. Brewer, Martin Shefield, Patrick Shields, William Dannelly, Eli Phillips and L.W. Lawhon. [Editor's Note: Petition rejected by the NC House]