» Show All     «Prev «1 ... 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 ... 147» Next»

1779 Petition, Anson County, NC - Division of Anson and creation of Montgomery County, NC

1779, Jan 20 -- Jan 1779-Feb 1779 General Assembly Session Records, Box 2 Folder 28
A Bill to divide Anson County and create Montgomery County includes petition from inhabitants requesting a division based on hardships and disadvantages based on distance and watercourse. The division would be an east to west line crossing the Pee Dee River at the mouth of Rocky River and all the land north of the Pee Dee would be a distinct county. Some of the earliest Montgomery county residents can be found on this petition including: Christopher Butler Junr., Christopher Butler Senr., James Butler, Thomas Butler, Jesse Wallace, Joshua Butler, John Sowell, John Ward, Joseph Allen, Thomas McClendon, Thos. Ward, John Dunn, John Wright, Thomas Diton, William Morgin, Goen Morgan, Vinson Davis, John Jefry, and Josias Wright.

Download PDF

Linked toJesse Wallace

» Show All     «Prev «1 ... 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 ... 147» Next»